A Lazy Evening at Home

Wednesday afternoon my throat started to feel scratchy.  It was unlike the usual slight sinus stuffiness I’ve been feeling for several months now.  So I began to worry a little.  I requested my husband to make me some chicken soup when I got back home.  He put a tone of garlic in it, and I had glasses and glasses of orange juice – as much as I could drink.  Drinking a lot of fluids is a problem sometimes because my uterus is now squeezing my stomach.  I need to eat and drink in small increments. 

Well, whatever I tired to do Wednesday night didn’t work.  So the next morning I woke up with a stuffy nose, scratchy throat and perhaps a somewhat high temperature.  The temperature thing is a bit hard to gauge since I have too much blood now.  I called in sick and got my husband to call in family leave.  He made me some garlicy food and went out to buy some orange juice.  So I felt better today, but decided to stay home anyways, just to be on the safe side.

Luckily my daughter seems to be unfazed by it all.  I felt her reaching my ribcage when Wednesday evening I was riding the MUNI.  I felt her getting stronger too, and hitting me harder then usual.  Luckily most of the time she’s asleep.

I used to joke about her being active.  I used to say that she will be an accomplished acrobat by the time she will be born.  I thought that maybe we will check her in to a circus the way other parents check their kids in the hospital for testing.  All of a sudden I’m not in a mood to joke that much.

My mom said that I was an active kicker too.  But then for some reason she doesn’t remember me punching her too much, and she doesn’t remember her stomach changing shapes when I moved.  This is strange considering that I hear from many other sources that babies can kick with the vengeance.

February 9, 2007. Breedosaurus.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

