Certified Health Issues

No pregnancy is complete without complications.  Perhaps it’s a Jew in me talking.  Perhaps I just need something valid to complain about when I speak with other women. 

So I had my Gestational Diabetes test last Tuesday.  The lab lady gave me some sugary cola to drink and instructed me to return in an hour for the blood draw.  I was told that the cola is nasty, but perhaps because I’m craving sweets, I didn’t find it particularly nasty.  I did get dizzy and almost faint, possibly because of the sugar high.  The lab lady said that the drink can’t cause it, and something must be wrong with me.  I beg to differ.  This dizzy spell is clearly linked to the test.  I wasn’t dizzy when I went to the hospital, and I picked about half an hour-45 minutes after I had the drink.  Dizziness went away completely within an hour or two.

My diabetes results were good, but they found iron deficiency.  As far as I can tell, I am not really deficient, just at the lower threshold of the norm.  Nevertheless my doctor sent me a letter instructing to start an iron supplement regiment.  Whoo-hoo!  I hear iron supplement can make me sick.  We’ll see.

From time to time I feel too tired, more tired then I should be, I think.  So might be the iron, and it’s a good idea to take care of the problem because I already started wondering how in the world I’m supposed to give birth if I’m so exhausted.

My legs still feel funny.  Perhaps it’s time to consider a massage.  I also need to be better about walking…

February 17, 2007. Breedosaurus.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

