Pregnancy Weight Gain, Revisited

A healthy woman should gain 25-35 pounds, I’m told, the skinnier she is, the more she should gain.  The good news is it’s not all baby swimming in fat.  Experts break it down like that:

7.5 – 8.5 lbs

Baby

2 lbs

Amniotic Fluid

1.5 – 2 lbs

Placenta

1.5 – 2 lbs

Breast Tissue

3 lbs

Blood Volume

2 – 2.5 lbs

Uterine Muscle

4 lbs

Water

8 lbs

Maternal Stores

 

I’m not sure what they mean by “maternal stores” but it looks an awful like a euphemism for fat.  Anyhow, I am now pretty much as big as I’m going to get looks-wise.  I will get heavier because my baby is getting heavier squeezing the water out of the uterus.  I am, however finding the above breakdown unrealistic. I found that my legs and but are much stronger now and I am gaining a bit of muscle tissue in my lower body from carrying my belly around.

April 18, 2007. Breedosaurus.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

