Smart Girl, Stupid Classes

I am approaching childbirth from the geekiest angle.  Not only did I read multiple pregnancy websites, I signed up with a gazillion health education classes, which was mostly a waste of time.  I educated myself on the rare baby presentation I thought I have.  Being a smart girl, she turned, on her own.

Anyhow, to go back to the health ed angle, I signed up with a Kaiser Lamaze class.  The wonderful Oakland Health Ed Department

  • Took forever to return my calls;
  • Singed me up with a wrong class.  I requested a single session, they gave me two sessions.
  • Transferred the class to a different room without telling me;
  • Didn’t notify receptionists that the class is meeting elsewhere;
  • Didn’t post any signs alerting students to the change of location;
  • Didn’t return my call when I was trying to find the class.

Anyhow it all worked out because I was already suspecting that the class might meet in a different meeting where other pre-natal ed classes met.  Plus, the instructor actually came to get us suspecting that some people fell through the cracks.

There was a sing up hick up for my breastfeeding class as well – they got the class length wrong: Two hours, not two and a half.  My hospital tour scheduled for the next Saturday will start at 10:30, not 10:00 as they told me on the phone.

Anyhow, out of all classes I signed myself up for breastfeeding was the most useful, probably because the instructor was the most hands-on, or possibly because I haven’t read much about breastfeeding yet.  The reason why I didn’t is because I know that there is a lot of conflicting info out there, so who knows what I really need to read.

My husband even suggested that perhaps we can switch health insurance.  “It might be a good idea, — I said, — but not because of the silly Health Ed Department.”  In other plans you’d have your OB deliver your baby, with Kaiser it’s whoever’s shift it is.  But then the Lamaze instructor said that it’s actually a good system for preventing unnecessary cesareans.  In none-HMOs doctors are called up to deliver, so if a woman’s labor is prolonged, they are more likely to suggest cesarean for failure to progress.  As a result, cesarean rate for first pregnancy at Kaiser is 18%, versus $30+ at Alta Bates.  18% is still quite high, mind you.

Anyhow, according to the Lamaze lady who is a midwife, my belly dropped quite a bit since the last session, and she thinks I will have a baby within two weeks.

I don’t know what to think about it.  Her prediction doesn’t come completely as a surprise, because people have been telling me that my belly is dropping for nearly a month now.  But hey, she’s a pro!  On the same note, a couple of days ago my OB told me not to worry if my baby is born any time now.  She’s basically full term and should be just fine.  So she’s told me the same thing…

On one hand it would be nice to take time, cash in on my maternity leave and catch up on some reading.  On the other hand, it would be nice to see what my baby looks like.

The Lamaze instructor was able to tell that my baby turned, and was quite happy for me.  I gave my baby full credit for turning – she’s a smart girl!  These two factors made the class worth it for me.

April 22, 2007. Breedosaurus.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

