Standards

I don’t know too many people who go to bed at 10 pm.  I know one parent couple, but unfortunately they live a half an hour away, which is like another planet right now. 

Following an advise of my doula, I joined a new mothers support group.  So now I can talk about my baby as much as my heart desires as long as I don’t boast too much.

I’m keeping my eyes open for other young mothers in the neighborhood, and there are some.  Unfortunately, I have standards.  For instance, last week I went out for a cup of coffee with a friend of mine.  He actually gets out of his way to visit me once a week.  I suspect his mother suggested he would do something like that. 

So we were sitting in a coffee shop.  Two other mothers were a table over to the right.  One of them had a six-year-old, another – a baby.

“How old is you baby,” – I decided to strike a conversation.

“Nine month,” — She said.  She was happy to know that mine is nearly the same age.  But then she added: “I’m learning so much from her.”

That was unfortunate because I’m making a list of things I want mine to unlearn.

July 24, 2007. Breedosaurus, Random thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

